Books · Personal

January 2017 Recap

monthly-recap-2

It’s the 31st of January which means that it’s time for my monthly recap! January wasn’t eventful at all but I managed to blog fairly consistently so I’m rather happy.

This is going to be a longish post…


Personal:

I graduated from my Masters degree on the 12th of January. It was a very fun day even though it was freezing.

I submitted my PhD application on the 22nd and I submitted my funding applications on the 27th. I’m just playing a waiting game now.

I saw Assassin’s Creed at the cinema on the 24th. I love the games and the film was decent too. It wasn’t the best film ever but I did enjoy it. Michael Fassbender is in it too so that’s always a plus.


Posts:


Books I’ve read:

  • The Castle of Ortanto by Horace Walpole
  • The Martian by Andy Weir
  • Why I Am So Clever by Friedrich Nietzsche
  • Resistance by Mikhaeyla Kopievsky
  • The Girl Before by JP Delaney
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Total: 6 books

Currently Reading:

  • Without Fail by Lee Child
  • The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett
  • Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh

Books I’ve bought:

  • The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  • And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  • One Shot by Lee Child

Total: 7 books


January Goals:

  • Graduate (again)
  • Submit PhD application
  • Submit funding application
  • Post at least 4 reviews
  • Read everything on my monthly TBR
  • Read one Terry Pratchett book
  • Read one Lee Child book

February Goals:

  • Submit proposal for Gothic conference
  • See Jack Whitehall on tour
  • Post at least 4 book reviews
  • Read everything on my monthly TBR
  • Read two Terry Pratchett books
  • Read two Lee Child books

I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

8 thoughts on “January 2017 Recap

    1. I love Mary Barton by Gaskell so I’m sure I’ll enjoy North and South too! I will definitely have to check that out. There’s so many shows I want to watch on Netflix but I haven’t gotten around to any of them yet.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

