Books

Musing Mondays: New Things on the Blog and Trying Out New Genres

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at The Purple Booker which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: Do you try out genres you have not liked in the past once in a while just to see if your taste changed?


So, this week’s Musing Mondays is going to have two parts to it. The first is where I’m going to talk about some new things that I’m considering adding to my blog and the second part will be the random question of the week.

I’ve decided that I’m definitely going to introduce a few sections to my blog that can be considered more academic than what I normally write. I have an MA in Early Modern Literature and I really miss writing about the literature from an academic perspective so I’m considering one of these section titles:

  • Early Modern Mondays
  • Throwback Thursdays
  • Shakespearean Saturdays

‘Early Modern Mondays’ is self explanatory I think but if I go with ‘Throwback Thursdays’ then I’d talk about pre-1900 literature rather than just Renaissance literature. I’m a huge fan of 19th century novels and plays and I love Gothic literature too so that could work really well as an academic section on my blog. Yes, I’m using the popular hashtag but I think that it works as a section name. ‘Shakespearean Saturdays’ is a bit narrow for my liking but I’ve worked on a lot of Shakespeare so it could be a good section. Do you have any suggestions?

I’m also considering doing adaptation reviews where I compare the film/show to the original book and talk about what I did and didn’t like. I’m not really sure how that will go at the moment but I am very behind on watching adaptations so I could do a few like The Martian or The Maze Runner in the next month.


Do you try out genres you have not liked in the past once in a while just to see if your taste changed?

I usually play it very safe with which genres I choose when it comes to reading. I know that I love Science Fiction/Speculative Fiction, Fantasy, Gothic, Classics, Crime & Mystery, Thriller, and Horror novels so I generally stick to those. However, I have been pushed recently to try Contemporary novels as well as YA novels and even Romance novels.

I’m not a huge fan of YA novels but I have bought a few recently to see if I can find an author that I like. I know that I love Maggie Stiefvater’s work and James Dashner’s work but it would be nice to expand my YA reading.

I’ve even tried to read Paranormal Romance novels recently, a genre I know that I don’t like, but I’m struggling to get through them because I’ve never been a fan of the genre. I’m trying to broaden my horizons when it comes to genre but I still like to stay within my comfort zones.

 

2 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: New Things on the Blog and Trying Out New Genres

Leave a Reply

