Books · Personal

Musing Mondays: Starting a PhD (in October) and What it Means for My Blog

Musing Mondays (1).png

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at The Purple Booker which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: If you could travel to one place you’ve read about in a book, what place would you visit and what book was it from?


I announced this yesterday in my Sunday Post but if you haven’t read that then I have some news: I’m starting my PhD in October. You probably guessed that by the title of this post but I’m so happy that I can’t stop talking about it.

This means that my blog is going to change a bit when October comes because I’ll be doing so much work at university. I’m going to try to blog as much as possible, much more than I am doing at the moment, before October comes because my schedule will take a hit once I start. So, here are some of my plans for my blog post-September…

  • Monthly Musing Mondays post
  • Monthly Early Modern Monday post
  • One or two book reviews per week
  • Fortnightly WWW Wednesday post
  • Weekly Sunday Post
  • Monthly PhD/University updates
  • Monthly TBR/Recaps

This will probably equal 3 or 4 posts per week which isn’t much different to now but I think my schedule will suffer a bit. I’m looking into this now because I plan to have a lot of reviews ready to post in the first few months of my PhD so that I’m not stressing about reviews when I’m stressing about my thesis.

I’m including the monthly uni updates because it’ll be a nice way for me to log how I felt that month and how my research is going. I’ve been told throughout the years to start a blog for my research but I don’t like that idea so I’ll just incorporate it into my normal blogging routine through the monthly Early Modern Monday posts.

I’m sure that this plan will change before October but these are my initial ideas.


This week’s random question: If you could travel to one place you’ve read about in a book, what place would you visit and what book was it from?

So, I’m limiting myself to 5 real places because otherwise I’d just say every country on the planet…

  1. Florence, Italy from A Room with a View by E. M. Forster
  2. Venice, Italy from Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
  3. Sweden from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  4. Egypt from The Night Manger by John le Carre
  5. Switzerland from The Night Manger by John le Carre

I’d love to visit any of these places but especially Florence.

7 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: Starting a PhD (in October) and What it Means for My Blog

  1. Congratulations on getting accepted for your PhD! It’s such an amazing accomplishment Amy and I know you’ll do amazing 💞
    I’d love to travel to Italy too, mainly for all the yummy food 🍝 and definitely Egypt!

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      I’m going to Sorrento in September so I’m going to look into going to Florence for the day while I’m there. It looks like such a beautiful place 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

