Books

ARC Book Review: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald (Luna #2)

luna wolf moonTitle: Wolf Moon
Author: Ian McDonald
Genre: Science Fiction
Publication Date: 
23rd March 2017
Publisher: Gollancz
ISBN 13: 9781473202269
Pages: 400
Started: 19th March 2017
Completed: 22nd March 2017
Rating: 4/5
Summary: Corta Helio, one of the five family corporations that rule the Moon, has fallen. Its riches are divided up among its many enemies, its survivors scattered. Eighteen months have passed. The remaining Helio children, Lucasinho and Luna, are under the protection of the powerful Asamoahs, while Robson, still reeling from witnessing his parent’s violent deaths, is now a ward – virtually a hostage – of Mackenzie Metals. And the last appointed heir, Lucas, has vanished from the surface of the moon. Only Lady Sun, dowager of Taiyang, suspects that Lucas Corta is not dead, and – more to the point – that he is still a major player in the game. After all, Lucas always was a schemer, and even in death, he would go to any lengths to take back everything and build a new Corta Helio, more powerful than before. But Corta Helio needs allies, and to find them, the fleeing son undertakes an audacious, impossible journey – to Earth. In an unstable lunar environment, the shifting loyalties and political machinations of each family reach the zenith of their most fertile plots as outright war between the families erupts.

I received a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Ian McDonald, and the publisher, Gollancz, for this opportunity.


Luna New MoonThis book is the second novel in the Luna series by Ian McDonald. The first book, New Moon, was published in 2015. It’s unclear how long the series will be but it has been called ‘Game of Thrones in Space’ so I think that this series could have a fair few books left in it.

I haven’t read the first one and I think that I should have done because this is the type of series where you need to pay attention to every subplot that’s going on around the main plot.


The main plot is very interesting because I enjoyed the political tensions created by McDonald. I enjoyed the concept of different families inhabiting different places in the solar system and how this affects their physicality, mentality, relationships, behaviour, and even politics. This book is very clever and complex.

I liked certain characters; mainly the Corta family who have been split up onto different worlds after their home was destroyed and taken over by another family, the Mackenzies. I liked that Robson was taken in by the Mackenzie family but he is still a Corta at heart. Lucas is perhaps my favourite character because he’s strong-willed, determined, resourceful, and unrelenting.  Despite his setbacks he is determined to take back what once belonged to him and restore his family to their rightful place.

The writing style of this is sometimes off-putting because you have long passages that don’t seem to contribute to the overarching plot but this is not the final novel in the series and I expect all of these subplots to be tied up later. It does feel like a middle book rather than one that could stand alone. However, I did enjoy the fast paced nature of this novel. There’s enough action in the novel to keep you entertained but the overwhelming tension between the characters is what kept me reading until the end.

I could have done without the excessive amount of sex in this novel. It didn’t add anything at all to the book in my opinion and I mostly skipped through these scenes because I found them boring. I just can’t see the point of them at all. However, I was impressed that not all of the relationships were heterosexual. Sexuality doesn’t seem to matter at all in this series as male, female, and non-binary characters take on multiple lovers of any gender orientation. That was pretty cool.


Overall, this book was a very interesting read but I realise now that I should have read the first book in the series before taking on this book. I would like to go back and read the first book because this one has intrigued me but I think I’ll be skipping any sex scenes that appear in Luna: New Moon too.

4 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Wolf Moon by Ian McDonald (Luna #2)

Leave a Reply

