Books

Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

And ThenTitle: And Then There Were None
Author: Agatha Christie
Genre: Crime / Mystery
Date: 
2003 (1939)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 250
Started: 11th March 2017
Completed: 11th March 2017
Rating: 4.5/5
Summary: First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.


Aspects of this edition differ from the original story, including the title, as they are rightfully labelled as racist today even though they were acceptable at the time of first publication in 1939.

Agatha Christie is one of the best-selling novelist in ever, outsold only by the Bible and William Shakespeare. She is known the Queen of Crime and it is a well deserved title.


The plot of And Then There Were None is superb. It’s has so many unexpected twists and turns and it kept me guessing until the very last chapter. There’s a wonderful twist at the end which brings the whole book together and ties up every confusing plot line.

Each character that has been invited to Solider Island has a dark past and you find out straight away what they are accused of but there’s so much more to each story than just the fact that they’re meant to have murdered someone. I really enjoyed finding out about every single character and their awful pasts. I also loved the fact that two women were included in the murderers, one a young woman and the other an older, religious woman. There’s a great mix of characters and that makes the book even more appealing because you’re not just reading about upper-middle class white men.

The writing is truly amazing. I loved the dialogue-heavy style because it makes you concentrate more on the detail that Christie does reveal. It may seem a little bit formulaic at times but writing style is almost comforting because it’s how you’d expect a crime novels from the 1930s to sound. It’s a lovely, quick read and it’s perfect for a night in.


The Mysterious Affair at StylesI’d highly recommend this book because it’s such a great mystery novel. I think it’s one of the best crime books I’ve ever read and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.

I’m looking forward to reading more Agatha Christie novels in the future. I think I’m going to read The Mysterious Affair at Styles next because I’d like to start the Hercule Poirot series but I’m one of those people that has to read things in order of publication. Do you have any favourites that you’d recommend?

7 thoughts on “Book Review: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

  1. Sadly I’ve never read this although I’ve seen a movie/ TV version or two. It’s such a classic I really should give it a try. Death on the Nile has always kind of appealed to me too…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This has been one of the books I have wanted to read for quite a while. The recent BBC series that came out looks brilliant, and I’m waiting to read the book before I watch it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

