Books

Musing Mondays: Favourite Names in Literature

musing-mondays-1

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted at The Purple Booker which asks you to answer either the random question or one of the following prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

This week’s random question: What’s the coolest name you have ever seen in a book? Would you name your offspring after said fictional character?


I really love names from Renaissance plays and poetry. This is mainly due to the fact that Renaissance literature is my area of interest in terms of research but I also love the fact that my first name, Amy, was in the top 50 names for girls during this time in England (according to records) and my surname was incredibly common too. This means that all of the names on this list are either from Shakespeare or another writer of the time.

  1. Cordelia from King Lear by William Shakespeare – Origins: Possibly derived from the Celtic name Creiryddlydd
  2. Viola from Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare: – Origin: Latin for ‘violet’
  3. Stella from Astrophil and Stella sonnet series by Sir Philip Sidney – Origin: Latin for ‘star’
  4. Kastril from The Alchemist by Ben Jonson
  5. Sebastian from The Atheist’s Tragedy by Cyril Tourneur (and featured in many more plays from the era) – Origin: Derived from the Greek meaning ‘venerable’

I don’t particularly want children but if I did have them then Viola, Kastril, and Sebastian are the only ones that I’d choose from this list.

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays: Favourite Names in Literature

Leave a Reply

