Books

Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

crown of midnightTitle: Crown of Midnight
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy
Date: 
2013
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Pages: 418
Started: 16th March 2017
Completed: 16th March 2017
Rating: 4/5
Summary: Crowned by Evil. Bound by Duty. Divided by Love.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, put those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom…


Throne of Glass coverCrown of Midnight is the second book in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. The series currently consists of 5 novels and a collection of novellas. A new novella, entitled Tower of Dawn, will be published in September 2017 and a new novel is set to be published in 2018. I reviewed Throne of Glass in 2016 and you can read it here.

Maas is also the author of the A Court of Thorns and Roses saga.


I enjoyed this book much more than I enjoyed the first book in the series even though I’ve given them the same rating of 4 stars out of 5. This was due to several different factors including the fact that Maas didn’t have to spend time setting up the world that the novel is set in. She still reveals new details about the world she has created but they’re weaved into the plot.

Also, the main character wasn’t as annoying in this book. She was still fairly annoying but at least she didn’t read all the time like she did in the first book. There was also plenty of character development for all of the major characters and I actually liked every character in this book, even the ones that I found annoying or boring in the first book. I also loved the new characters that Maas introduced, especially Archer. Archer is perhaps my favourite character in the series because I just didn’t know what to expect from him. I could never guess who he was loyal to. His role in the plot was very interesting.

There was a lot more action in the novel. This is partly because Celaena is acting as an assassin again but the way she defies the orders of the King is what makes the action more interesting. It isn’t just mindless violence because you really get to see how Celaena works and why she was considered the best assassin in her world. There’s also action in terms of plot progression. A lot happens in this novel in terms of Celaena’s research into magic and you get to know more about Celaena’s past. The progression of the overarching plot was great and it made me really excited about the third book in the series.

I loved the ending. It wasn’t a cliffhanger but it did make me want to read more. I found the ending to be satisfying in that it rounded the novel off really well but it didn’t answer all of my questions. It will be interesting to see how Celaena copes in a new environment with new characters.

The reason I gave this book 4 stars is because the writing felt a little lacking at times. The writing occasionally felt rushed and this is a problem I had with the writing in A Court of Thorns and Roses which is also by Maas. I just feel like there could be a bit more description of events rather than everything happening in a whirlwind. That’s just my opinion.


Overall, I enjoyed this book a lot. I prefer it to the first one but some sections of writing just let it down for me. However, the plot is better and the characters are much more interesting than in the first book.

I would recommend this book but you should obviously read the first book before diving in to this one.

One thought on “Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Throne of Glass #2)

Leave a Reply

