Books · Personal

April 2017 Recap

monthly-recap-2

It’s time for my April recap.

Long post ahead…


Personal:

I did a lot of gardening this month which is unusual for me since I’m not much of a gardener. I really enjoyed it though and it’s nice to see the garden starting to bloom.

I also found out that my PhD wouldn’t be funded. I’m not surprised in the least because it’s an Arts PhD about Shakespeare (and other Renaissance writers) but I’m sort of still processing that information and what it means for my future. I’m going to have to cut back on everything that’s not essential and I’m going to be completely broke for at least the next three years. I’m not looking forward to that and it’s actually making me rethink my decision to do a PhD. I’m considering a graduate job instead but it’s a bit late to apply now. I’m just at a crossroads and I don’t know what to do. I think I’m going to be sad about this for a while.

I’ve had a bit of a rubbish week altogether actually.


This Month’s Posts:


Books I’ve read:

  • The Gustav Sonata
  • The Colour of Magic
  • Ready Player One

Total:  3 books

I let myself down on the reading front this month. I’m really disappointed.


April Goals:

  • Post 4 book reviews
  • Read at least 4 books
  • Complete conference paper
  • Continue using my bullet journal

May Goals:

  • See Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 at the cinema
  • Meet up with my best friend in Leeds
  • Speak at Reimagining the Gothic conference
  • See Micky Flanagan on tour
  • Post 4 book reviews
  • Read at least 4 books
  • Continue using my bullet journal

I hope everyone had a wonderful month!

One thought on “April 2017 Recap

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t get the funding for your PhD :/ :/ I’ve heard that’s typical for non-science PhDs. What is the topic of your dissertation??? Also, I would love to see pictures of some of your bullet journal spreads 🙂 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

