Books · Tags

The Goodreads Book Tag

tags-and-challenges

I saw this tag over at My Tiny Obsession. Cristina didn’t tag anyone specific so I decided to take this opportunity to do it because it looks fun.


the-blazing-worldWhat was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

The Blazing World and Other Writings by Margaret Cavendish. I loved it. It had been on my TBR for ages but it was £10 for a tiny book so I waited until my birthday to buy it. I

t was also the first book that I read on my Classics Club list.


What are you currently reading? 

Le Morte d’Arthur by Sir Thomas Malory, The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad, Nomad by James Swallow, Last Seen by J.L. Doucette (ARC), Dune by Frank Herbert, and Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy.

I’m only actively reading the first four but once I’ve finished them I will be finishing Dune and Tess.


ACOWARWhat was the last book you marked as TBR? 

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

I haven’t even read A Court of Mist and Fury yet though so it’ll be a while before I get to A Court of Wings and Ruin. I hope that it’s good though because I’ve been looking forward to reading the rest of this series.


The Mysterious Affair at StylesWhat book do you plan to read next?

I have an ARC of One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus but I also want to read The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie.

I do want a quick read after I’ve completed all of the books that I’m currently reading though because they’re all pretty long.


Do you use the star rating?

Yes, I definitely do! I use half stars in my blog reviews and I wish that Goodreads offered half star ratings too.


Are you doing the 2017 Reading Challenge? 

I am. I’m so far behind though because I haven’t been able to finish any books for ages. I was thinking about reducing my goal but I really wanted to read 100 books this year. I usually read a lot more during the last few months of the year though so maybe I’ll be able to complete my goal this year.

goodreads challenge fail


a sicilian romanceDo you have a wishlist?

I don’t have a wishlist on Goodreads (I didn’t know you could have one) but I do have one on Amazon. Five random books on the list are:

  • The Doors of Perception: And Heaven and Hell by Aldous Huxley
  • A Sicilian Romance by Ann Radcliffe
  • Zeus Grants Stupid Wishes: A No-Bullshit Guide to World Mythology by Cory O’Brien
  • Three Early Modern Utopias by Thomas More, Francis Bacon, and Henry Neville
  • Neuromancer by William Gibson

jamaica innWhat book do you plan to buy next?

Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier

I also want to read Rebecca by du Maurier, which I don’t own yet, so I’m planning on buying them at the same time in June since I get my bonus from work.


Do you have any favourite quotes? Share a few.

I do have a lot of favourite quotes. I’ve chosen my top three to share with you all.

malfiThe sun’s a thief, and with his great attraction
Robs the vast sea; the moon’s an arrant thief,
And her pale fire she snatches from the sun.
Timon of Athens by William Shakespeare, Act IV scene iii

Whether we fall by ambition, blood, or lust,
Like diamonds, we are cut with our own dust.
– The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster, Act V, scene v.

I am too fond of reading books to care to write them…
– The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde


Who are your favourite authors/writers?

In no particular order, my top 10 are:

  1. William Shakespeare
  2. John Webster
  3. Philip K. Dick
  4. Terry Pratchett
  5. Mary Shelley
  6. George Orwell
  7. Elizabeth Gaskell
  8. Ursula Le Guin
  9. Kate Chopin
  10. Maggie Stiefvater

Have you joined any groups?

I have but I don’t really interact with them. I need some good groups to join so leave me some suggestions. I am waiting for The Classics Club to accept me into their group on Goodreads but I’m not sure if anyone actually uses the group.


I tag: Everyone!

3 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag

  1. I’m really curious about Dune. It never occurred to me to read it, but someone highly suggested the movie, and while researching the movie I learned it was a book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

